top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCheryl Price

Final Project Updates

Updated: Apr 24, 2020

Work on the book is going pretty well, I just have the leather cover to go.


Book/journal is all finished.

I’m still working on the Green Beetle box. Trying to decide if I want to use eggs or cicadas with the pheasant skull.


I haven’t started the actual bird painting on the fence yet. The weather has been crappy and cold. I did spend a small fortune on paint yesterday. A gallon of white and four quarts of color; blue, grey, brown and orange. I think I can mix everything I need from these and I have ton of spray paint. It may turn into some kind of graffiti.

I thought that the marbled paper was too busy so I’m trying a solid color instead. I really wish that I had some real pheasant eggs but they are too expensive. I could blow out some chicken eggs and paint them. When I was a zookeeper I had to do millions (maybe not really, but it seemed like it) of ostrich eggs, so Im no crazy about doing them.



This is still pretty rough, but I feel like it’s a good start. Looking forward to nice weather this weekend to finish it up.



On the automaton, I made the holes into slots so the poles can move without getting stuck. It looks really rough, still need to file it down and make it pretty.





These two new cyanotypes have a lot richer color. I think I like the last one best. I may use a weak bleach solution to do sole highlighting.



Still working on the bugs. Still a long way to go. I love working in colored pencils.

21 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page